The Permanent Representative of the Philippines to ASEAN, H.E. Ambassador Elizabeth P. Buensuceso, handed over her duties as the Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives to ASEAN (CPR) to the Permanent Representative of Singapore to ASEAN, H.E. Ambassador Tan Hung Seng, at the ASEAN Secretariat on 8 December 2017. The handover ceremony was attended by the Secretary-General of ASEAN, H.E. Le Luong Minh, and the Permanent Representatives from ASEAN Member States.

In her remarks, Ambassador Buensuceso highlighted that “the year 2017 was a landmark year for ASEAN and the Philippines is proud to have been ASEAN’s Chair during its 50th Anniversary. The CPR has its raised profile and role as the ASEAN body responsible for growing ASEAN, together with the ASEAN Secretariat.  The CPR has accomplished a great number of tasks this year.  I would like to thank all our friends and partners for helping us accomplish this.  We have no doubt that the incoming Chair, Singapore, will achieve many more successes and accomplishments for ASEAN.”

She also expressed her appreciation to Secretary-General Minh and the ASEAN Secretariat for their continued support during the Philippines Chairmanship. The theme for 2017 was “Partnering for Change, Engaging the World”.

In his remarks, Ambassador Tan congratulated the Philippines for its successful Chairmanship of ASEAN, during its Golden Jubilee. “Singapore is honoured to assume the ASEAN Chairmanship in 2018, and will build on the foundation laid by previous Chairs to advance the ASEAN Community. Singapore will focus on the twin themes of “Resilience” and Innovation” as ASEAN moves forward to the next 50 years,” he said.

Singapore’s ASEAN Chairmanship will officially begin on 1 January 2018.

Source: ASEAN